Chairman of Rajya Sabha


    In News

    Recently, Rajya Sabha welcomed its new Chairman, Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar.

    Chairman of Rajya Sabha

    • Vice-President of India is ex-officio Chairman of the Council of States i.e., Rajya Sabha.
    • Powers and Functions:
      • As Presiding Officer of the House
      • Powers and Duties of the Chairman, as laid down by the Constitution of India
      • As the Principal Spokesman of the House
      • Powers Conferred on the Chairman under the Rules of Procedure of the Rajya Sabha
      • Right of the Chairman to interpret the Constitution and Rules
      • Role in the Deliberations of the House
      • Casting of Vote by the Chairman
    • Salaries and allowances:
      • Fixed by the Parliament by law.
      • Specified in the Second Schedule. 

    About Rajya Sabha 

    • Rajya Sabha is a permanent House and is not subject to dissolution.
    • To ensure continuity, one-third of its members retire after every second year.
    • The House also elects a Deputy Chairman from among its members. 
    • Besides, there is also a panel of “Vice Chairmen” in the Rajya Sabha. 
    • The Fourth Schedule to the Constitution provides for allocation of Rajya Sabha seats to the states and Union Territories, on the basis of the population of each state. 
    • Of 245 members, 12 are nominated by the President and 233 are representatives of the States and Union territories of Delhi and Puducherry. 

    Source: IE