INS Vagir


    In News

    • Recently, the Indian Navy commissioned the fifth diesel-electric Kalvari-class submarine Vagir.

    Key Points

    • About:
      • Also known as Sand Shark, the submarine was delivered to the Indian Navy in December 2022.
      • Vagir is a Kalvari-class submarine, which includes six submarines developed under Project 75.  
      • Four of these submarines have already been commissioned into the Navy viz. NS Kalvari, INS Khanderi, INS Karanj and INS Vela.
      • The sixth, INS Vagsheer, will be commissioned next year.
    • Origin of Name:
      • From Vagir, a submarine which served the Navy between 1973 and 2001.
    • Built By: 
      • the Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders Limited (MDL) in collaboration with the French M/s Naval Group 
    • Capabilities and Technical Details:
      • This class of submarines have Diesel Electric transmission systems.
      • These are primarily attack submarines or ‘hunter-killer’ types which means they are designed to target and sink adversary naval vessels.
    • Significance:
      • Vagir represents stealth and fearlessness, as it comes with features like an advanced acoustic absorption technique.
      • Vagir will boost the Indian Navy’s capability to further India’s maritime interests.
      • It is capable of undertaking diverse missions including anti-surface warfare, anti-submarine warfare, intelligence gathering, mine laying and surveillance missions.

    Source: IE