Padma Awards 2020


    In News

    • The President of India has presented the Padma Awards to the recipient for the year 2020.
      • 7 Padma Vibhushans, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri awards.

    Padma Awards 

    • About:
      • Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India.
      • Announced annually on the eve of Republic Day (26th January)
      • Awardees are presented a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion.
      • The names of the awardees are published in the Gazette of India
      • Does not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the awardees’ name. (they are not prohibited by Article 18)
    • Objectives:
      • To recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines of public service. 
    • History:
      • Initially two civilian awards i.e Bharat Ratna & Padma Vibhushan were instituted in 1954.
      • Later had three classes namely Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg and Tisra Varg.
      • Subsequently renaming was done as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri in 1955.
    • Categories:
      • The Awards are given in three categories
      • Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service)
      • Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher-order) 
      • Padma Shri (distinguished service).
    • Disciplines:
      • Art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service etc.
    • Selection Process:
      • Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. 
      • Even self-nomination can be made; without any distinction.
      • Government servants including those working with PSUs, except doctors and scientists, are not eligible for these awards.

    Bharat Ratna

    • Highest civilian award of the country (exceptional service of the highest order in any field).
    • It is treated on a different footing from Padma Award.
    • Recommendations: PM to the President of India.
    • Numbers: Restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. 
    • Later, it was awarded to Bhupen Hazarika, Pranab Mukherjee, and Nanaji Deshmukh in 2019.

    Source: PIB