Nobel Prize for Physics 2021


    In News 

    • Recently, the Nobel Prize for physics has been awarded to scientists from Japan, Germany and Italy for their work to understand complex systems, such as the Earth’s climate.
      • The Nobel Prize in Physics is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden.


    • Syukuro Manabe (90) and Klaus Hasselmann (89) were cited for their work in “the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”.
      • The second half of the prize was awarded to Giorgio Parisi (73) for “the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.”
    • The combined work of the three laureates has contributed to humanity’s understanding of the effects of carbon dioxide emissions into the atmosphere, the accelerating greenhouse effect, and cyclical patterns in natural phenomena (starling murmurations) and long-term climate phenomena (recurring ice ages).

    Image Courtesy : IE

    Nobel Prize laureates in physics

    • The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences is responsible for the selection of the Nobel Prize laureates in physics. 
    • The Academy appoints a working body, the Nobel Committee for Physics, which screens the nominations and presents a proposal for final candidates. 
    • The committee consists nominally of five voting members, but for many years, it also includes voting adjunct members. 
    • The Committee’s proposal is discussed in a larger body, the Physics Class of the Academy, who may suggest a modification or forward a different proposal to the Academy.
    •  Finally, additional proposals may be raised at the final Academy meeting. 
    • It is in principle possible to suggest that no Prize be given the current year, but that is a seldom-used choice.

    Who is eligible for the Nobel Prize in Physics?

    • The candidates eligible for the Physics Prize are those nominated by qualified persons who have received an invitation from the Nobel Committee to submit names for consideration. No one can nominate himself or herself.

    How are the Nobel Prize laureates selected?


    Source: TH