North-Eastern Council


    In News 

    • Recently, the Vice President of India advised the North-Eastern Council to propel the NE region on a resurgent phase of accelerated development by quickly resolving issues that have been impeding its progress.

    About North Eastern Council (NEC)

    • It is the nodal agency for the economic and social development of the North Eastern Region which consists of the eight States of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura. 
    • It was constituted in 1971 by an Act of Parliament.
    • NEC members: the Governors and the Chief Ministers of the 8 states including Sikkim, Chairman and 3 members who are nominated by the country’s President. 
    • Functions:
      • To discuss any matter in which some or all of the States represented in the Council have a common interest and advise the Central Government and the Governments of the States concerned as to the action to be taken on any such matter, particularly with regard to:
        • any matter of common interest in the field of economic and social planning.
        • any matter concerning inter-State Transport and Communications.
        • any matter relating to Power or Flood-control projects of common interest.

    Source: PIB