NIA Offices by 2024


    In News

    • Recently, the Union Home Minister announced at the two-day ‘Chintan Shivir’ (brainstorming session) in Faridabad that all states in the country will have National Investigation Agency (NIA) offices by 2024 as a strategy to counter terrorism.

    About National Investigation Agency (NIA)

    • The National Investigation Agency (NIA) is the primary counter-terrorist task force of India.
    • The agency is empowered to deal with the investigation of terror related crimes across states without special permission from the states under written proclamation from the Ministry of Home Affairs.
    • The Agency came into existence with the enactment of the National Investigation Agency Act 2008 by the Parliament which was passed after the deadly 26/11 terror attack in Mumbai.
    • It is headquartered in New Delhi.
      • The NIA has branches in Hyderabad, Guwahati, Kochi, Lucknow, Mumbai, Kolkata, Raipur, Jammu, Chandigarh, Ranchi, Chennai and Imphal.
    • It maintains the NIA Most Wanted list. 

    Source: IE