PRASAD Project


    In News

    • Recently, the President inaugurated PRASAD project at the tourism facilitation centre in the pilgrim town of Srisailam in Andhra Pradesh.
      • The President also had an interactive session with the Chenchu tribe

    About PRASAD scheme

    • The full form of the PRASAD scheme is ‘Pilgrimage Rejuvenation And Spiritual Augmentation Drive’. 
    • The scheme was launched in the year 2014-2015.
    • It comes under the Ministry of Tourism. 
    • Aim:
      • This scheme focuses on developing and identifying pilgrimage sites across India for enriching the religious tourism experience.
      • It aims to integrate pilgrimage destinations in a prioritised, planned and sustainable manner to provide a complete religious tourism experience. 
    • Funding:
      • The Ministry of Tourism provides Central Financial Assistance (CFA) to state governments under the Prasad scheme to promote tourism at pilgrim sites. 
      • The Central Government will cover 100% of the costs under this program. 
      • For improved sustainability, it also includes a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR).
    • Cities Identified Under PRASAD Scheme: 
      • Amritsar (Punjab).
      • Kedarnath (Uttarakhand).
      • Mathura (Uttar Pradesh).
      • Ajmer (Rajasthan).
      • Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh).
      • Gaya (Bihar).
      • Kamakhya (Assam).
      • Dwaraka (Gujarat).
      • Puri (Odisha).
      • Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh).
      • Kanchipuram(Tamil Nadu).
      • Velankanni (Tamil Nadu).

    Chenchu tribe

    • It is a Dravidian tribe.
    • It is designated as Scheduled Tribe in the Indian states of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka and Odisha.
      • Many Chenchus live in the sparse and deciduous Nallamala forest of Andhra Pradesh. 
    • They are an aboriginal tribe whose traditional way of life has been based on hunting and gathering.


    Significance of the PRASAD scheme 

    • Promoting religious tourism: The growth of domestic tourism hugely depends on pilgrimage tourism.
      • The scheme paves the way for the development and promotion of religious tourism in India.
    • Job creation: to reap advantage of pilgrimage tourism’s multiplier and direct effects on job creation and economic development.
    • Development: In the development of pilgrimage locations, it will adhere to the pro-poor tourist philosophy and community-based development.
    • Making use of public resources and skills.
    • Infrastructure: It will develop world-class infrastructure in religious places to sustainably increase tourism appeal.
    • Knowledge: It will increase local community knowledge of the relevance of tourism to them in terms of improved living conditions, increased sources of income, and overall region development.
    • It will develop livelihood in the specified areas, promote local culture, arts, food, handicrafts, and so on. 

    Other Government initiatives

    • Swadesh Darshan Scheme:
      • It is a Central Sector scheme launched in 2014-15 by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture.
      • It aims at integrated development of theme-based tourist circuits.
      • This scheme is envisioned to synergise with other schemes like Swachh Bharat Abhiyan, Skill India, Make in India etc. with the idea of positioning the tourism sector as a major engine for job creation, the driving force for economic growth, building synergy with various sectors to enable tourism to realise its potential.
    • Adopt a Heritage:
      • This project is envisioned to fulfill the objective to provide an enhanced tourism experience to all travellers. 
      • It aims at ensuring quality & inclusive provision of amenities and facilities across heritage, natural, & tourist sites through active participation of private and public sector organizations and individuals. 
      • These organizations would be known as “Monument Mitras” for their collaboration initiative. 
    • Iconic Tourist Sites initiative
      • It aims at overall development from the tourism point of view in and around these sites which includes roads and infrastructure, hotels and lodges, connectivity and access.
      • Sites:
        • Taj Mahal and Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh)
        • Ajanta & Ellora (Maharashtra)
        • Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort and Qutub Minar (Delhi)
        • Colva (Goa)
        • Amer Fort (Rajasthan)
        • Somnath and Dholavira (Gujarat)
        • Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh)
        • Hampi (Karnataka)
        • Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu)
        • Kaziranga (Assam)
        • Kumarakom (Kerala)
        • Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar)
        • Konark Sun Temple (Odisha)
        • Kevadia (Gujarat) 
        • Golconda Fort (Telangana).
    • Dekho apna Desh
      • It is a webinar series.
      • The purpose of starting the webinar series was to maintain a dialogue and introduce the citizens to the history, culture, cuisine, heritage, architecture, etc.

    Source: TH