Padma Awards 2022


    In News 

    • Recently, the President approved the conferment of 128 Padma Awards including 2 duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one).
      • The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards. 
      • 34 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 Posthumous awardees.

    About Padma Awards

    • They are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. 
    • Objectives: 
      • The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.
    • History: 
      • The Government of India instituted two civilian awards-Bharat Ratna & Padma Vibhushan in 1954. 
    • The latter had three classes namely Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg and Tisra Varg. 
    • These were subsequently renamed as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri vide Presidential Notification issued on January 8, 1955.
    • Categories: The Awards are given in three categories: 
      • Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service)
      • Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher-order) 
      • Padma Shri (distinguished service). 
    • Procedure: 
      • All nominations received for Padma Awards are placed before the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. The nomination process is open to the public. Even self-nomination can be made.
        • The Padma Awards Committee is headed by the Cabinet Secretary and includes Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and four to six eminent persons as members. 
        • The recommendations of the committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the President of India for approval.
    • Who is eligible for Padma awards?
      • All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards. However, government servants including those working with PSUs, except doctors and scientists, are not eligible for these awards.
      • The award is normally not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously.
        • The total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to NRI/foreigners/OCIs) should not be more than 120.

    Bharat Ratna

    • It is the highest civilian award in the country. 
    • It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour. 
    • It is treated on a different footing from Padma Award. 
    • The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President of India. 
      • No formal recommendations for Bharat Ratna are necessary. 
    • The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. The government has conferred Bharat Ratna Award on 45 persons to date.

    Source: TH