Flag Code of India


    In News 

    • The Flag Code of India is a set of laws and conventions concerning the use, display, and hoisting of the Indian national flag in the country.
      • Before the 2002 code was introduced, the display of the national flag was governed by provisions of The Emblems and Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950, and the Prevention of Insults to National Honour Act, 1971.

    About Flag Code

    •  It was brought into effect on January 26, 2002. 
      • Quite recently, the Indian government amended some of its provisions.
    • It states that a member of the public, private organisation, or educational institute is allowed to hoist the national flag on all days and occasions, ceremonial or otherwise, consistent with the dignity and honour of the flag.
    • Parts 
      • The code has been divided into three parts. 
        • The first part contains a general description of the national flag. 
        • The second part talks about the display of the flag by members of the public, private organisations, and other institutions.
        •  The third part is about the display of the national flag by central and state governments, and their organisations/agencies.
    • Amendments to the code
      • Recently ,the Centre amended the Flag Code of India, allowing the national flag to be flown both in the day and at night if it is displayed in the open or in the house of a member of the public.
        •  Earlier, the tricolour could be hoisted only between sunrise and sunset.
    • In an earlier amendment dated December 30, 2021, the government had allowed the use of machine-made and polyester flags. Previously, such flags were not allowed to be used.

    A brief about the Indian national flag

    • The Indian national flag is rectangular, with stripes in three colours: saffron, white, and green. 
    • It has a 24-spoke navy blue wheel known as the Ashok Chakra at its centre. It was adopted at a meeting of the Constituent Assembly on July 22, 1947.