Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port


    In News

    • Recently, the Ship-to-Ship operation of LPG was undertaken at Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port, for the first time in the History of major ports in India.

    Key Highlights 

    • Kolkata Port was renamed Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port.
    • The Kolkata Port is the first Major Port as well as the only riverine port in the country.
    • It came to be governed by a Trust on 17th October 1870
    • Kolkata Port has traversed 150 years and in this journey, it has been India’s gateway to trade, commerce and economic development.

    Major Ports in India 

    • India has 13 major ports viz. Kolkata Port, Paradip Port, New Mangalore Port, Cochin Port, Jawaharlal Nehru Port, Mumbai Port, Kandla Port, Visakhapatnam Port, Chennai Port, Tuticorin port, Ennore Port, Mormugao Port and Port Blair Port.

    Shyama Prasad Mookerjee (1901-1953)

    • Born in a Bengali Family
    • Leader of Hindu Mahasabha.
    • Served as a minister in the Bengal government in 1937.
    • Member of Constituent Assembly and later, the first Lok Sabha.
    • Minister in Nehru’s first cabinet after independence; resigned in 1950 due to differences over relations with Pakistan.
    • Founder of Bharatiya Jana Sangh (The Bharatiya Janata Party -BJP is the successor of BJS).
    • Was opposed to India’s policy of autonomy to Jammu & Kashmir; arrested during Jana Sangh’s agitation against Kashmir policy; died during detention.

    Source: PIB