ASEAN 5 Point Consensus


    In News

    • Recently, the Indonesian Foreign Minister said that India and other countries should “respect” and follow ASEAN’s  “five point consensus” on Myanmar rather than adopting a “different” path. 

    ASEAN “five point consensus”

    • An immediate end to violence in the country; 
    • Dialogue among all parties; 
    • The appointment of a special envoy
    • Humanitarian assistance by ASEAN; and 
    • The special envoy’s visit to Myanmar to meet with all parties.

    Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

    • It is a political and economic organization.
    • Founded in: 1967 by the five South-East Asian nations of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
    • Aim: Promoting economic growth and regional stability among its members.
    • 10 Members at Present:
      • Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.
    • ASEAN Plus Three:
      • It is a forum that functions as a coordinator of co-operation between the ASEAN and the three East Asian nations of China, South Korea, and Japan.
    • ASEAN Plus Six:
      • The group includes ASEAN Plus Three as well as India, Australia, and New Zealand

    Source: TH