Ramanujan Prize


    In News 

    • Professor Neena Gupta, a mathematician at the Indian Statistical Institute in Kolkata, has been awarded the 2021 DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from developing countries for her outstanding work in affine algebraic geometry and commutative algebra.
      • She is the third woman to receive the Ramanujan Prize.

    About Ramanujan Prize

    • Ramanujan Prize was first awarded in 2005.
    • It is administered by the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) jointly with the Department of Science and Technology (DST) Government of India and the International Mathematical Union (IMU).
    • It is given annually to an eminent Mathematician who is less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the year of the award.
    • The DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Prize committee, composed of eminent mathematicians from around the world.

    Source: TOI