Uttarakhand Foundation Day



    • Recently, Uttarakhand celebrated its 22nd Foundation Day.


    • Uttarakhand (Capital: Dehradun) was formed on 9 November 2000 by joining several districts from the Northwestern part of Uttar Pradesh and a portion of the Himalayan Mountain range as the 27th state of India. 
      • The state is divided into Garhwal and Kumoan divisions.
    • The four most sacred and revered Hindu temples of Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, and Yamunotri also known as Char-dams are situated in Uttarakhand and so, are known as the ‘Land of the Gods.
    • Uttarakhand  has been ruled by great kingdoms including the Kushanas, Kudinas, Kanishka, Samudragupta, Kataria, Palas, Chandras, and Pawaras.
    • The bordering states of Uttarakhand are Tibet, Nepal, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, and Uttar Pradesh.
    •  In 2007, officially, it was renamed Uttarakhand from Uttaranchal.
    • Uttarakhand is home to two UNESCO World Heritage Sites i.e Valley of Flowers and Nanda Devi National Park.