National Sports Awards 2021


    In News

    • The National Sports Awards for the year 2021 were announced by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports. 
      • The President of India will felicitate the awardees on November 13, 2021. 


    • National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.
    • Announced by: Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports
    • Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2021: 
      • It is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of the previous four years.
      • This year, it will be given to 12 Sportspersons.
    • Arjuna Awards for outstanding performance in Sports and Games 2021:
      • It is given for good performance over a period of the previous four years and showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.
      • This year, 35 Sportspersons will receive this award.
    • Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games
      • It is given to coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.
    • Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games
      • It is given to honour sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to the promotion of sports events after their retirement.
    • Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar
      • It is given to corporate entities (both in the private and public sector), sports control boards, NGOs including sports bodies at the State and National level who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. 
    • Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy:
      • Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given this award.

    Source: PIB