National Energy Conservation Awards


    In Context 

    • The awardees of the National Energy Conservation Awards would be felicitated on 14th December 2021.
      • This year, a new award – National Energy Efficiency Innovation Awards (NEEIA) is also institutionalized.
      •  It is to recognize “Innovative Energy Efficiency Technologies” and instil a sense of competition to motivate industries & sectors to develop innovative energy efficiency efforts in their units.  

    About National Energy Conservation Awards (NECA)

    • It was initiated by the Bureau of Energy Efficiency under the Ministry of Power for the first time on December 14 1991, which is celebrated as “National Energy Conservation Day” throughout the country. 
    • Every year on 14th December, these Awards are given by eminent dignitaries of the Government of India to the energy-intensive units of various sectors of the Indian economy for their exceptional achievements in reducing specific energy consumption. 
    • This scheme has motivated industries and other establishments to adopt energy efficiency measures.


    • It promotes newer technologies, ideas, and pave way for the adoption of these innovations by larger groups which will help in creating new employment opportunities. 

    Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE)

    • It is a statutory body and was established on 1st March 2002 under the provision of the Energy Conservation Act, 2001. 
    • It will assist in developing policies and strategies with a thrust on self-regulation and market principles with the primary objective of reducing the energy intensity of the Indian economy within the overall framework of the Energy Conservation Act, 2001. 

    Source: PIB