Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries + (OPEC+)


    In News

    • OPEC+ is going to cut crude oil output by 100k barrels per day from October 2022.

    About OPEC+

    • Created in 2016 
    • Backdrop: OPEC countries decided to ally with other oil-producing countries outside the group to cut down the global output of oil.
    • Members: OPEC+ refers to a group of 23 oil-producing countries that includes:
      • 13 members of OPEC: Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Algeria, Angola, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Libya, Nigeria, the Republic of the Congo, and Venezuela
      • 10 other oil-producing countries: Russia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Brunei, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Mexico, Oman, South Sudan and Sudan
    • Facts:
      • Saudi Arabia is the largest oil producer among OPEC members.
      • Russia, which produces more oil than even Saudi Arabia, plays a crucial role, along with OPEC, in influencing global crude oil prices.
      • It controls more than 50% of the world’s crude supplies

    Image Courtesy: Wiki 


    Significance of this grouping

    • The global energy market was largely dominated by western multinational companies, called the ‘Seven Sisters’.
      • Anglo-Iranian Oil Company (now BP),
      • Royal Dutch Shell (now Shell),
      • Standard Oil Company of California (later Chevron),
      • Gulf Oil (now merged into Chevron),
      • Texaco (now merged into Chevron),
      • Standard Oil Company of New Jersey-Esso (now part of ExxonMobil) and
      • Standard Oil Company of New York-Socony (now part of ExxonMobil).
    • The new grouping was seen as a response by oil-producing countries to protect their interests amid the rise of the U.S. shale industry.

    Source: TH