India elected to UN Statistical Commission


    In News

    • India has been elected to the highest statistical body of the United Nations for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2024.
      • India was a member of the Statistical Commission last in 2004 and the country is returning to the UN agency after a gap of two decades.

    United Nations Statistical Commission 

    • About: 
      • The United Nations Statistical Commission was established in 1947 and is the highest body of the global statistical system.
      • It brings together the Chief Statisticians from member states from around the world. 
    • Function: 
      • The Statistical Commission oversees the work of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD), and it is a Functional Commission of the UN Economic and Social Council.
      • It is the highest decision making body for international statistical activities, responsible for setting of statistical standards and the development of concepts and methods, including their implementation at the national and international level.
    • Members: 
      • The Commission consists of 24 member countries of the United Nations elected by the United Nations Economic and Social Council on the basis of an equitable geographical distribution according to the following pattern:
        • Five members from African States;
        • Four members from Asia-Pacific States;
        • Four members from Eastern European States;
        • Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
        • Seven members from Western European and other States.
      •  The term of office of members is four years.
    • Annual Meeting: 
      • In July 1999 the Economic and Social Council decided that the Commission should meet annually for four days each session, starting in the year 2000.

    About Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation 

    • It came into existence as an Independent Ministry in 1999 after the merger of the Department of Statistics and the Department of Programme Implementation. 
    • The Ministry has two wings, one relating to Statistics and the other Programme Implementation. 
      • Statistics Wing: It is called the National Statistical Office(NSO) and consists of the Central Statistical Office (CSO), the Computer center and the National Sample Survey Office (NSSO). 
      • The Programme Implementation Wing: It has three Divisions,
        • Twenty Point Programme
        • Infrastructure Monitoring and Project Monitoring and
        • Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme. 
      • Besides these two wings, there is National Statistical Commission created through a Resolution of Government of India (MOSPI) and one autonomous Institute, viz., Indian Statistical Institute declared as an institute of National importance by an Act of Parliament.
    • The ministry attaches considerable importance to coverage and quality aspects of statistics released in the country which are based on administrative sources, surveys and censuses conducted by the center and State Governments and non-official sources and studies.