Croatia’s Entry into Schengen Zone


    In News 

    • Recently, Croatia adopted the euro currency and enter Europe’s passport-free Schengen zone after nearly a decade after joining the European Union.
      • Croatia welcomes the Euro – a significant milestone for citizens and businesses alike, contributing to easier trade and investments, reduced transaction costs and increased financial stability overall.

    Schengen Zone 

    • The border-free Schengen Area guarantees free movement to more than 400 million EU citizens, along with non-EU nationals living in the EU or visiting the EU as tourists, exchange students, or for business purposes (anyone legally present in the EU). 
    • Free movement of persons enables every EU citizen to travel, work and live in an EU country without special formalities. 
      • Schengen underpins this freedom by enabling citizens to move around the Schengen Area without being subject to border checks.
    • Joining by Croatia: It will also be the 27th nation in the passport-free Schengen zone.

    Source: TH