Nagaland Statehood Day


    In News

    • Prime Minister Narendra Modi extended his wishes to the people of Nagaland on their Statehood day.

    About Nagaland Statehood day

    • Nagaland is celebrating its 60th statehood day
    • It became the 16th State of the Union of India on 1st December 1963. 
    • It is bounded by Assam in the West, Myanmar (Burma) in the east, Arunachal Pradesh and part of Assam in the North, and Manipur in the South.
    • The State consists of 16 (Sixteen) Administrative Districts, inhabited by 17 major tribes along with other sub-tribes. 
      • Each tribe is distinct in character from the others in terms of customs, language, and dress.
    • Its people belong to the Indo-Mongoloid stock, whose ancestors lived off nature’s abundant gifts, blessed with sturdy formidable dispositions.
    • The State is replete with festivities throughout the year, as all tribes celebrate their own festivals with a pageantry of colour, music, and dance. 
      • A common feature is that the festivals revolve around agriculture, the mainstay of the Naga economy. These festivals hark back to times prior to the advent of Christianity.

    Source: Air