Grievance Appellate Committee (GAC) portal


    In News

    1. The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology launched the Grievance Appellate Committee (GAC) portal under the IT Rules, 2021.

    About the portal 

    • It will be a virtual digital platform that will operate online – wherein the entire appeal process, from the filing of an appeal to the decision thereof, shall be conducted digitally.
    • It is developed by the National Informatics Centre (NIC).
    • It will allow people who are dissatisfied with complaints to social media companies on content takedown requests, to be heard by one of three Committees constituted by the government.

    The Grievance Appellate Committee (GAC)

    • In January 2023, the Centre announced the establishment of three GACs based on the recently amended Information Technology (Intermediary Guidelines and Digital Media Ethics Code) Rules, 2021.
    • The GAC is an online dispute resolution mechanism. The entire appeal process, from filing to a decision, is in digital mode. GAC endeavors to resolve appeals within 30 days.
    • Composition: It consists of a chairperson and two whole-time members appointed by the Central Government, of which one will be a member ex-officio and two will be independent members.
    • Roles and Responsibilities 
      • The GAC deals with the appeals of users (Digital Nagriks) aggrieved by decisions of Grievance Officers of social media intermediaries and other intermediaries on complaints of users or victims against violation of the IT Rules and any other matters pertaining to the computer resources made available by the intermediaries.

    Source: TH