Gallantry Awards


    In News 

    • Recently, the President of India presented Gallantry Awards and Distinguished Service decorations in a defence investiture ceremony for the year 2021.
      • Group Captain Abhinandan Varthaman was awarded Vir Chakra which is a wartime gallantry award.

    Gallantry Award

    • About:
      • To honour the acts of bravery and sacrifice of the officers/personnel of the Armed Forces, other lawfully constituted forces and civilians.
    • Announcement: 
      • The Ministry of Defence invites recommendations twice a year from the Armed Forces and Union Ministry of Home Affairs for gallantry awards.
      • Twice a year, first on the occasion of Republic Day & other on Independence Day.
    • History of Awards:
      • Post-Independence, the First three gallantry awards namely Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra and Vir Chakra were instituted by the Government of India on 26th January 1950 which were deemed to have effect from August 15th,1947.
      • Thereafter, other three gallantry awards i.e. Ashoka Chakra Class-I, Ashoka Chakra Class-II and Ashoka Chakra Class-III were instituted by the Government of India on 4th January 1952.
      • These awards were renamed Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra respectively in January 1967.
    • Classification
      • Classified into two Categories: Wartime Gallantry Awards & Peacetime Gallantry Awards
      • Wartime Gallantry Awards: Param Vir Chakra (PVC), Mahavir Chakra (MVC), Vir Chakra
      • Peacetime Gallantry Awards: Ashok Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Shaurya Chakra

    Other Awards

    • Sena Medal, Nao Sena Medal & Vayu Sena Medal: Awarded for acts of exceptional devotion to duty or courage in the Army, Navy & IAF respectively.

    Source: Zeenews