Places in News: Donetsk & Luhansk


    In News

    • Russia backed separatists have controlled the southeastern Ukrainian regions of Donetsk and Luhansk. 

    About the regions

    • Location:
      • Donetsk and Luhansk are two states located in eastern Ukraine, which share a border with Russia.
    • Separatist territories:
      • Within these two states are two separatist territories known as the Donetsk People’s Republic (DPR) and Luhansk People’s Republic (LPR), which are run by Russian and Russian-backed separatists.
    • Donbas region:
      • This entire region, which includes Donetsk, Luhansk and their respective separatist territories, is generally referred to as the ‘Donbas’ region.
    • Dependent on Russia:
      • These breakaway territories are heavily dependent on Moscow for financial and military support, and their leaders have openly proposed joining the Russian Federation.
    • The Minsk agreements:
      • It refers to two accords signed in 2014 and 2015 in a bid to quell fighting in the Donbas region.

    Map in Detail

    Source: IE