Martyr Capt. Tushar Mahajan (MCTM) Railway Station


    Syllabus: Prelims


    • The Union Government unveils the naming of UDHAMPUR (UHP) Railway Station as Martyr Capt. Tushar Mahajan (MCTM) Railway Station.


    • Captain Tushar Mahajan was an officer in the Indian Army who made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty. He was a part of the 9 Para Special Forces Unit (Parachute Commando).
    • He attained martyrdom during a terror attack in Pulwama, South Kashmir in February 2016.
    • He was awarded the Shaurya Chakra (posthumous), highest peacetime gallantry awards of India because of his selfless dedication to his duty and bravery in the face of danger.

    How are Railway Station Names Changed?

    • Change of station names is entirely a state subject even though Railways belong to the Union government.
      • While Indian Railways may own the station, it does not get involved in the changing the name of railway stations.
    • The state governments send the request to the Ministry of Home Affairs, the nodal ministry for these matters, which then accords its approval, keeping the Ministry of Railways in the loop.
    Shaurya Chakra

    – It was instituted on 4 Jan 1952 as Ashoka Chakra Class-III and renamed on 27 Jan 1967 as Shaurya Chakra and awarded for gallantry, otherwise than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded posthumously.
    Personnel Eligible:
    1. Officers, men and women of all ranks of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia and of any other lawfully constituted Forces.
    2. Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.
    3. Civilian citizens of either sex in all walks of life and members of Police Forces including Central Para-Military Forces and Railway Protection Force.

    Source: PIB