Malcolm Adiseshiah Award 2023


    In News

    • Utsa Patnaik, a renowned economist of national and international repute, has been selected for the Malcolm Adiseshiah Award 2023.

    About Malcolm Adiseshiah Award 

    • It is one of the most prestigious national awards in India that recognizes and honours the outstanding contributions of social scientists to the field of development studies.
    • It was instituted in 2000 by the Malcolm and Elizabeth Adiseshiah Trust.
    • The award is given annually to an outstanding social scientist selected from nominations received by a specially constituted national jury. The award includes a citation and prize money of Rs 2 lakh.
    • The Malcolm Adiseshiah award for distinguished contributions to Development Studies carries a cash award of Rs. 1 lakh and a citation. 
    • Malcolm Sathiyanathan Adiseshiah (1910 – 1994), was an Indian development economist and educator. In 1976 he was awarded the Padma Bhushan.

    Past Indian recipients

    • Bina Agarwal, Professor,  in 2002., Jandhyala B G Tilak, Professor, in 2003, Dipankar Gupta, Professor, in 2004, Dr. Amita Baviskar, Associate Professor, 2005, Prabhat patnaik economist and political commentator, 2022

    Source: TH