Manesar Anti-Terror Excercise Under SCO RATS


    In News

    • Pakistan has been invited to the closing ceremony, on October 13, of the ongoing Joint Anti-Terror Exercise (JATE).

    About Manesar Anti-Terror 2022

    • The National Security Guard is hosting the multinational JATE ‘Manesar Anti-Terror 2022’ under the framework of the SCO Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure(RATS) at the NSG Manesar Garrison.
      • JATE is an annual counter-terrorist exercise held within the framework of the SCO RATS.
    • The exercise is aimed at exchanging expertise and best practices, and build synergy between the Counter Terrorism Forces of the SCO RATS member countries to enhance capabilities for conducting anti-terrorist operations and countering other security threats collectively.
    • The exercise will provide a platform to the participating member countries to enhance their operational capabilities and exchange experience in combating terrorism, separatism and extremism, which are common regional security challenges.

    SCO Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) 

    • About: It is a permanent body of SCO. It aims to counter extremism, terrorism, and separatism in the region. Its headquarters is in Tashkent, Uzbekistan.
      • India assumed chairmanship of the RATS SCO on October 28, 21.

    Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO)

    • About:
      • It is a permanent intergovernmental international organisation of Eurasian Nations with a secretariat in Beijing.
      • It is a political, economic and military organisation that aims at maintaining peace, security and stability in the region.
      • Origin:
      • Shanghai Five emerged in 1996 from a series of border demarcation and demilitarization talks between 4 former USSR republics and China.
      • Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan were members of the Shanghai Five.
      • With the accession of Uzbekistan to the group in 2001, the Shanghai Five was renamed the SCO.
      • The SCO Charter was signed in 2002 and entered into force in 2003.
    • Inclusion of India & Pakistan:
      • India and Pakistan both were initially observer states.
      • Both were given full membership in 2017.
    • Members:
      • Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, India, and Pakistan.
      • Iran has been admitted as a permanent member of the SCO at the Samarkand summit.
      • Iran will attend the SCO as a full member from the Summit to be hosted by India in 2023.
    • Structure:  
      • SCO Secretariat in Beijing & Executive committee in Tashkent.