Diamond League Trophy


    In News

    • Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra has created history by winning the Diamond League Final 2022 in Zurich.


    • He won the prestigious Diamond Trophy with a best attempt of 88.44m. He is the first Indian to win the Diamond Trophy.
    • Neeraj has won the Olympic Gold in 2021, the Asian Games Gold in 2018, the Commonwealth Games Gold in 2018, the World Athletics Championships silver in 2022. 
    • The diamond trophy award is worth USD 30,000. Additionally, he gets a wild card entry into the World Athletics Championship in Budapest, Hungary.

    What is a Diamond League?

    • The Diamond League is one of the top athletic championships, formerly known as World Athletics.
    • It was founded in the year 2010 and has 32 events associated with it.
    • The purpose behind creating this league is to replace the IAAF Golden League, which came into effect after an agreement was signed with the Wanda Group. 
    • The Diamond League gives exposure to athletes throughout the world by boosting their spirits. It includes the members from the Golden league except for Berlin and all the traditional European competitions that consider a series of events, like China, Qatar, Morocco and the United States.
    • Russia was excluded at the beginning of March 2022 due to its involvement in the invasion of Ukraine.
    • The 2022 Diamond League is the 13th season of the Diamond League. It is a revision to the top athletics series.

    Source: Firstpost