New NITI Aayog CEO


    In News

    • Former IAS officer BVR Subrahmanyam was appointed the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of NITI Aayog by the government.

    About NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog

    • NITI Aayog was formed via a resolution of the Union Cabinet on 1 January 2015. 
    • Functions: As the apex think tank of India’s government, NITI Aayog provides both directional and policy inputs. 
      • It is developing itself as a state-of-the-art resource centre with the necessary knowledge and skills that will enable it to act with speed, promote research and innovation, provide strategic policy vision for the government, and deal with contingent issues.
    • Objectives: The numerous objectives of the NITI Aayog include fostering cooperative federalism, evolving a shared vision of national development priorities, sectors and strategies with the active involvement of states, and developing mechanisms to formulate credible plans at the village level and aggregate these progressively at higher levels of government.

    Governing Council of NITI Aayog

    • The Governing Council is the premier body tasked with evolving a shared vision of national priorities and strategies, with the active involvement of States, in shaping the development narrative. 
    • It comprises the Chief Ministers of all the States and Union Territories with legislatures and Lt Governors of other Union Territories. The Prime Minister is the chairman of the Governing Council.