Islands named after Param Vir Chakra awardees


    In News

    Prime Minister named 21 largest unnamed islands in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands after Param Vir Chakra awardees.

    More in News

    • The naming was done on the occasion of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s 126th birth anniversary, which is officially observed as Parakram Diwas (Day of Valor). 
    • A proposed memorial will be set up on Ross Island, which was renamed as Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep in 2018.
    • Neil Island and Havelock Island were also renamed Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep.

    Significance of Andaman and Nicobar Islands in India’s Independence

    • The islands were first controlled by the Dutch, then by the British, and were taken over by the advancing Japanese military during World War II for three years (1942-45).
    • The islands were formally handed over to Bose’s Azad Hind government in 1943, although effective control remained with Japan.
    • It is the land where Subhas Chandra Bose unfurled the national flag for the first time in 1943.
    • Before his departure, he renamed Andaman as Shaheed (“Martyrs”) Island, and Nicobar as Swaraj (“Freedom”) Island.”

    Param Vir Chakra

    • It is India’s highest military decoration instituted on 26 Jan 1950, as a Gallantry Medal with retrospective effect from 15 August 1947 by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the then President of India.
    • The award is granted for “most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy”.
    • The medal was designed by Mrs. Savitri Khanolkar. The designer drew inspiration from sage Dadhichi, a vedic rishi. 
    • The medal is cast in bronze. In the centre, is the state emblem, surrounded by four replicas of Indra’s Vajra, flanked by the sword of Shivaji and is held by a 32 mm purple ribbon.

    Parakram Diwas 

    • It is celebrated on 23rd of January, on this day in 1897, Neta Ji was born in Cuttack, Odisha. 
    • It was first observed in 2021 on the 124th birth anniversary of Netaji.

    Do you Know ?

    • Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose started the newspaper ‘Swaraj’. In 1927, after being released from prison, he became general secretary of the Congress party and worked with Jawaharlal Nehru for independence.
    • He was elected President of the Haripura Session of INC in 1938. He was re-elected as president of INC in 1939.
    • After a controversy, he resigned from the INC and formed Forward Bloc in 1939.
    • Netaji, proclaimed the formation of the provisional government of independent India (Azad Hind) in Singapore.
    • In early 1944, three units of the Azad Hind Fauj (INA) took part in the attack on the north-eastern parts of India to oust the British from India. However, the attempt to liberate India by the Azad Hind Fauj failed.

    Source: IE